New Manual Driver - Launching Questions

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
daleadbull
Senior Standardshifter
Cars: VW Golf R

New Manual Driver - Launching Questions

Post by daleadbull »

Hello all,

I've been lurking on this forum for a few months now and Its been very helpful in my learning process. I have not seen this particular question answered in detail so I thought I'd start a thread.

Background first, I've been driving stick for about 8 months now. I own a 2012 VW Golf R and this is my first stick car, before I bought the car I had spent a whopping 3 hours in a manual car. Looking back, I'm pretty amazed I was even able to get the car home (1.5 hour drive from dealer). I'm now pretty comfortable with most of the basics. I can upshift pretty smoothly, although the 1-2 shift still gives me some trouble. I can rev match downshift pretty well and I can even heal-toe well on occasion.

Now on to my question, I can launch smoothly (although slowly) on level ground pretty well. I'm still not as consistent as I'd like to be but that will come with time I guess. On inclines it's a hit or miss, I don't stall anymore but not always smooth. In both these scenarios, I slowly release the clutch and pause at the engagement point a little, then add gas and release the rest of the way. So if I screw up I know what I'm doing wrong. My question is how do I launch when I'm trying to get off the line quickly? (My car is AWD BTW)

I'm not talking about hard launches, but just regular quick launches like you would in an automatic. I hate that I have a powerful car yet slushies beat me off the line a lot. Again I'm not talking about racing, just quickly getting the car moving. Please go into as much detail as possible.

I feel like once I perfect the launch, I would really start enjoying stick a lot more. I already love it tho, automatics are boring!
2012 VW Golf R
Shadow
Master Standardshifter