I think I broke it...

General discussion about cars. Looking to buy a new car? Have a great driving story? Post it here!
MCS21
Junior Standardshifter

I think I broke it...

Post by MCS21 »

Hey everyone,

So I've been driving my '06 Mini Cooper S for about 2700 miles and this is the first time (to my recollection) that I have heard this noise when the car is idling in neutral with the clutch out. The best way I can describe it is if you were to stick a piece of paper in an oscillating fan, the sound the paper makes when the blade hits it. It is not too loud, but is still audible inside the car and out. This is my first daily driver manual and I have been pretty hard on it because I am still learning. My upshifting lately has been particularly bad and I'm trying not to get frustrated with it. But anyway what I want to know is is that sound a warning sign?

Thanks in advance.
-Chris
-'06 Mini Cooper S
s4rge
Senior Standardshifter

Post by s4rge »

mo idea :/ not real car savvy @ all ehhe.. hows the oil in the car? or the transmission oil.
1995 Black Mustang GT Vert- Current Mustang
1997 Red Mustang GT Vert- Gone but not forgotten. Red Car in avatar
MCS21
Junior Standardshifter

Post by MCS21 »

The oil is good, there are only 2700 miles on the car. So I don't think that is the problem. I am bringing my car into the dealership on Tuesday for an unrelated problem, so I'll ask them to look at it.

I forgot to add to my first post that when I depress the clutch the sound goes away and then when I get off the clutch it starts in again. So far I have only noticed the sound when the car is idling in neutral and not moving.

Ultimately I'll get an answer for my dealer but I just wanted to pick your brains about it so I know what to expect, if anything, going in.

Thanks.
-Chris
-'06 Mini Cooper S
Sypher
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 05 Mazda 3 GT

Post by Sypher »