FRICTION POINT

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.

do you have a need for speed?

always
25%
sometimes
75%
never
No votes

Total votes: 20

ReckLess
Master Standardshifter

FRICTION POINT

Post by ReckLess »

diffrent cars have diffrent friction point right? how do you get the friction point generally? im so used to the car im using right now that when i try other cars i feel like a newbie...
The YoYo Freak
Junior Standardshifter

Post by The YoYo Freak »

I'm still learning, so I try to get to the friction point as quick as I can without stalling, and then hit the gas and I'm off.

As far as need for speed goes, sometimes I like to get going quick, other times... I could care less. :D

Jared
jessielange
Junior Standardshifter

Post by jessielange »

Yes different cars have different friction points. A friend's blazer has it very high, the pedal is almost all the way up, while I drove a Toyota where the friction point was almost to the ground, and mine, slightly above half way.

The best way to know where the friction point is let the clutch out really slowly, when you start rolling, thats the friction point. That's all I can say really, just got to get used to it on whatever car you drive.
ReckLess
Master Standardshifter

re:

Post by ReckLess »

almost the way up? wow thats tough...
:twisted:
Gmc
Junior Standardshifter

Post by Gmc »

When I'm driving a car I've never driven before, I usually find the friction point by using this method:

Make sure the handbrakes up, shift into gear, then apply some gas, and lift off the clutch til you feel the car jolt a little, then push the clutch back down, and lift to the point where the car jolts again, keep doing that a few times til you've got used to where it is. Works for me :)
IMBoring25

Post by IMBoring25 »