What is less harmful: idling or 6K rpm w/o combustion?

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
Peterbilt
Senior Standardshifter

What is less harmful: idling or 6K rpm w/o combustion?

Post by Peterbilt »

I had an interesting discussion on another forum about this. My opponent claimed that being at 6K rpm with the fuel completely cut off (just pumping air) is less harmful for the engine than idling. How would local gurus comment on this subject?
Sypher
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 05 Mazda 3 GT

Post by Sypher »

not being a physicist myself, I am not quite sure, but i do know that you save a lot more gas with the injectors shut off lol...
scionkid
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 04 xB

Post by scionkid »

Even the best engineer cannot answer that without a big supercomputer because every car is different. Disregarding the pressure inside the cylinder, at high rev, the crank is applying plenty of force accelerating and decelerating the pistons as they go through top and bottom dead center. The same can be said for the rockers and valves as they slam back at their ports and ride on cam lopes. Even though the forces are high, I don't know what kind of oil pressure keeps moving parts from touching.

Tiamat, LS1, any engineers on the forum care to comment?
LS1Leader
Master Standardshifter

Post by LS1Leader »

He lost me after about ten words. :roll:

Too many factors, and I can't even think of where to start solving that problem.
Peterbilt
Senior Standardshifter

Post by Peterbilt »

Not including the fuel economy, how does braking from 6K rpm with the throttle shut off compare to idling. Sorry, if my original question sounded confusing.
Johnf514
Cars: '07 Mazda3, '06 Ninja 636

Post by Johnf514 »