Standard New Guy Questions

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
JakeDG
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: 2008 Civic 5-speed

Standard New Guy Questions

Post by JakeDG »

Hey guys so im new to driving standard but ive driven dirtbikes all my life so its been a fairly easy transition... I have a few questions that id really like to get some answers to. My first question is what should my revs be at when starting off ? When i try to keep them below 1000 i always seem to almost stall but i can catch it it and go with a little bucking but when i rev at 1500 or so i can pull away perfect which way is right and less wear on the clutch ? Also when im driving and upshifting say from 2nd to 3rd my friend told me to match the clutch and gas cause if i dont its bad for the clutch ? I find that if i take my foot off the clutch all the way then give it gas i can make it smooth as long as i dont take my foot off to fast which way it right or am i matching my clutch and gas wrong ? Also say when im in the parking lot say pulling out of a spot is it ok if i not have the clutch fully depressed cause its hard to speed in a busy parking lot. And last but not least ive been shifting at 2500 to 3000 for each gear is that ok for good gas millage. I know i have a lot of questions but im excited to learn and would greatly appreciate the help

Thanks, Jake
tankinbeans
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 17 Mazda6 To, 18 Mazda3 i

Re: Standard New Guy Questions

Post by tankinbeans »

With practice you'll be able to get moving without too much throttle input. Don't worry about being perfect.

I regularly just let off completely when shifting up through the gears. It's more a case of not revving too much with the clutch partially engaged. You'll need to allow it to slip, but not excessively.

It's fine to have the click partially engaged for an entire reversing maneuver. You have more control that way.