Questions on rev matching and engagement points

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
pirripal4
Junior Standardshifter

Questions on rev matching and engagement points

Post by pirripal4 »

Hey guys, after lurking the forum for some time, I finally got to register, and just wanted to begin by saying that this forum has been an extremely big help in understanding and driving a car with a manual transmission, so kudos to all of you.

I've been driving a manual for a few months now, and just the other day attempted to perform a downshift rev match, which I finally succeeded at a little later! I've read A LOT of information here on the forum on rev matching etc., but not much on the following:
Say I'm driving normally, upshifting at relatively low RPM. When driving like this, say in 2nd and wanting to upshift to 3rd, I notice that when I start bring up the clutch to friction point/catch point, the RPM needle shoots to approx. 1500 RPM, but if instead I am almost going WOT in 2nd, I notice that when I upshift to 3rd and the transmission catches, the RPMs shoot to approx. 3000 RPM. Therefore, won't that mean that if my throttle application changes considerably (low RPM upshifting vs. WOT upshifting), my downshift rev matches to any particular gear at a particular corresponding speed will differ based on the different driving conditions?

To further complicate matters for me, I don't know the gear ratios of my car since it was handed down to me as a car to learn on, without the owner's manual..it also kinda sucks because I have to guess the engine oil viscosity for the car, as well as the coolant type.

Anyway, thanks in advance, and thanks again for such a cool forum!

Al
ClutchDisc
Senior Standardshifter
Cars: 2009 Mazda 5 2.3L 5MT

Re: Questions on rev matching and engagement points

Post by ClutchDisc »