Digging out of snow with a low torque engine.

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
AI13
Junior Standardshifter

Digging out of snow with a low torque engine.

Post by AI13 »

I live in Alaska and so driving in snow is a fact of life. This is my first year trying to drive a manual in the snow/ice however, and my 2013 Forrester's clutch is paying the price for it. The problem that I am running into is that the engine just cannot seem to deliver any torque to the wheels before it stalls. If I don't keep the revs up (over 1k), I am about half a second away from stalling, doing so doesn't smell good at all though. I have only done it a couple of times so far, and I am very worried (read: positive) that I am glazing my clutch plate doing so.

My questions are as follows:
1. How to get going from a position of stuck with an engine that does not develop much torque. No-gas starts do not work in the snow.
2. What is the best thing to do when the wheels are literally frozen in place? (I am glad no one was next to me when I started this morning, I imagine that there was a small explosion of ice from my wheels.
3. How can I avoid burning the clutch?
4. Backing up, toward obstacles, through dense half frozen snow, up a hill. How in the heck do I do that?

I have tried turning traction control off and it only seems to help marginally, the problem is not a lack of traction, but a seeming excess of it. The most effective things that I have managed so far are to just keep backing up and ramming the snow until I can get through it, which is fine and all, except when that snow is around me at stop.

I am a bit out of my league here, I could use all the help you fine folks can offer.

Thanks.
AHTOXA
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '19 4RUNNER TRD ORP

Re: Digging out of snow with a low torque engine.

Post by AHTOXA »

You actually don't want a whole lot of torque in low traction situations.