Rev-hang revisited - fix may be available soon

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
stevenj
Junior Standardshifter

Rev-hang revisited - fix may be available soon

Post by stevenj »

Hi, I am a new member, automotive engineer by profession.
I read a lot about rev-hang when engine speed stays high for seconds after throttle pedal was returned to idle after acceleration. This makes smooth gear shifting difficult/impossible. I also read various advice ranging from rare good technical insights to frequently wrong conclusions and stupid explanations (e.g. heavy flywheel. limiting pressure in intake/crankcase, or wrong driving style)
I test cars for living and am very familiar with the rev-hang in EFI cars with FBW throttle (before those, dashpots were used on carby cars for the same reason - exhaust pollution control). The dashpots could be easily removed but these days the rev-hang is programmed in engine control computers. Car manufacturers are forced to do it by the Clean Air regulations even when they know very well that drivability of their cars is sometimes severely affected. In short, when throttle is closed abruptly, engines produce increased amounts of NOx (oxides of nitrogen) above legislated limits (I have seen test result proving this). Car makers’ universal solution is to force closing the throttle slowly by ECU signals, regardless of the throttle pedal being at idle position, logically demanding no fuel.
There are 2 possible fixes. For normal car owner, like you and me, the first one is neat, expensive and unrealistic - reprogram the ECU. The second one is more readily achievable, definitely cheaper but not for everyone as it will call for some technical expertise, as I will explain shortly.