Higher RPM vs Weight to start car from stop in 1st gear

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
Chiba
Junior Standardshifter

Higher RPM vs Weight to start car from stop in 1st gear

Post by Chiba »

Hey all,

I'm new to this forum and only found this place last week. Very informative but I am slightly information overloaded as there are just too many tips. I am a new manual driver, driving a 2013 WRX for around 3 weeks.

I'm starting to get fairly comfortable with starting in 1st gear from stop. I try to be off the clutch at 1.5K RPM.

Anyways, something interesting happened today which I would love input from experienced drivers. I think it hasn't been discussed and would be very useful for new manual drivers like me.

I drove myself and 2 male colleagues to lunch this afternoon and for some reason I kept stalling at lights.

After thinking about it at work (shhh!) I realized something: If the car gets heavier, should I be starting at a higher RPM (i.e. 2000 rpm rather than 1500rpm) to compensate for the weight? Is this situation similar to a car pulling a trailer?

If you're wondering, the combined weight of my colleagues is around 400 pounds.

Thanks!
rml605
Senior Standardshifter

Re: Higher RPM vs Weight to start car from stop in 1st gear

Post by rml605 »

Welcome!

And nice car. WRX is one of my choices for my next car.

IMO, but i'd let more experienced guys chime in, would be to still go no more than 1.5K or but slip the clutch a drop more.
IMBoring25

Post by IMBoring25 »

You do obviously need to do something differently, but I would consider 2000 for just standard launching in traffic to be excessive for anything other than a small-displacement motorcycle with a wet clutch.