How to adjust to a new car?

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
bk7794
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 00 Civic (Stock)

How to adjust to a new car?

Post by bk7794 »

I've noticed a massive difference between my two civics. The clutch on my newer one engages much lower compared to the 91. My question is though, now I have to re-adjust and I am having a very difficult time doing so. It seems that I can shift at a much slower pace compared the the 91 due to the lower engagement point. However, how long approximately does it take to adjust? Also any advice? I have found that thinking about it is much worse lol.
2004 Honda Accord 2.4 5 Speed
1989 Ford Taurus SHO 5 speed
Shadow
Master Standardshifter

Re: How to adjust to a new car?

Post by Shadow »

Depends on the driver. Personally, I can quickly adjust to pretty much any manual transmission car. Then again, I've been driving them for many, many years and I've owned lots of them during that time.

Just give it time and you'll get used to it.
watkins
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '08 Saab 9-5 Aero wagon

Post by watkins »

The more cars you drive, the easier it is to adjust. I drive a ton of manuals for work, so I only take a few minutes to figure a new car out.
bk7794
Master Standardshifter

Post by bk7794 »

Shadow wrote:Depends on the driver. Personally, I can quickly adjust to pretty much any manual transmission car. Then again, I've been driving them for many, many years and I've owned lots of them during that time.

Just give it time and you'll get used to it.
Thanks for the advice, I'll have to take the car out on a weekend when I am more refreshed and there are less drivers on the road.
watkins wrote:The more cars you drive, the easier it is to adjust. I drive a ton of manuals for work, so I only take a few minutes to figure a new car out.
Yeah, I found getting the car to move to not be much of a challenge, but just doing it smoothly consistently.
silent425