Manual transmission questions

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
SupraAddict
Junior Standardshifter

Manual transmission questions

Post by SupraAddict »

I've been driving stick for 4 years now, ever since I begun on my parent's 03' Accord and I have a couple of questions regarding driving manual:

1. What is the heel-to-toe technique? (please excuse if I'm butchering the terminology)

2. What are some no-no's for breaking in a new (2011-2012) manual transmission?
2.a I heard from someone that you have to drive the first thousand miles without revving over 3000 RPM's. Is this true and why?

3. What is the best way to approach a stoplight?
3.a I've experimented with putting the car in neutral and coasting up to the light, downshifting from 5 to 4th to 3rd etc. and lastly, holding in the clutch petal and braking when I get near the light. I know neutral is unsafe as the car is out of gear, but is it necessary to downshift to approach a light or stopsign instead of using the clutch pedal only, and which saves more gas?

4. Does stalling the car hurt it and how?
4.a Does popping the clutch hurt the car and how?
4.b How does shifting without the clutch hurt the car?

5. What kind of driving can prolong the transmission/ what really tears it up?

6. What is the double-clutching method?
2010 Toyota Corolla S
theholycow
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '80 Buick LeSabre 4.1 5MT

Re: Manual transmission questions

Post by theholycow »

All of your questions are answered here every day. You should probably read a little here. However, here are the answers again:
SupraAddict wrote:1. What is the heel-to-toe technique? (please excuse if I'm butchering the terminology)
Heel-toe is using one foot to operate two pedals. It can be done many different ways depending on your pedals and your feet. I like to straddle the brake and accelerator with the sides of my foot.