First Gear Trouble....

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
Initial D
Junior Standardshifter

First Gear Trouble....

Post by Initial D »

Hello, I have been reading the forums non-stop ever since I have received my 1986 4 speed Pontiac Fiero this previous labor day. I am new to manual transmission cars and I am in need of some assistance. I do understand that when first learning how to drive a manual tranny the two hardest thing to do are starting from first gear (which is what I struggle tremendously at) and starting on a hill. The questions I do have are in regards to driving and I would like to apologize in advance if this has been answered in another post already. I am a novice when it comes to manual transmission vehicles so please excuse my ignorance.

1.) When starting in first gear, is it alright to clutch in completely and ride the "friction point" and gas simultaneously? I heard this is more tougher on the clutch. If not how do I slowly coast in the car? (Ex: Pulling into a driveway, Parking spaces, u-turns, reversing?) without stalling the car and speeding off.

2.) When I stall the car I seem to stall very hard. Where should the rpm be when I am starting the car is first gear? My rpm seem to drop when I ease off the clutch but, I am giving it gas at the same time. I do understand that too much gas will cause a burnout and not enough gas will stall the car. What am I doing wrong?

3.) Is it necessary for me to down shift all the way to first gear even if I am yielding on right turns? It seems when I am yielding in second gear upon acceleration I have really bad car jerking. (happens to me when I am in first gear too). When the car seems to jerk really hard what should I do? It feels like I am riding a bull.