Am I doing this right?

Synchros shot? Weird noises while shifting? Not sure what needs to be replaced?
gr8wytshark
Junior Standardshifter

Am I doing this right?

Post by gr8wytshark »

I have a 2004 Hyundai Tiburon with the v6 6spd manual tranny. I've been driving a manual for 6 years now so I know I can't be THAT bad but tell me why I burned out my clutch in 14000 miles, is it really possible? I guess maybe I don't know that much about clutches and need some tips on how to save my clutch. Also, after getting the clutch replaced at the dealership it grinds when I try to put it in 2nd gear what is the reason for this-its the only gear that does it, and, will it hurt the clutch or tranny if I'm shifting from 1st straight to 3rd
potownrob
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '17 CX-5 GT

Post by potownrob »

Unless you have a history of prematurely killing your clutches, it sounds like a defective clutch...

Some tips to mitigate clutchwear:
-Don't add a lot of gas (more than 1500 rpms) until the clutch is fully engaged (all the way up)
-Don't hold your car on a hill using the gas and clutch instead of the brakes
-Don't hold the clutch in when you're not shifting in or out of gear, unless you're about to let it out again (e.g. stop sign)
-Don't rest your foot on the clutch when you're not using it
-Don't downshift without rev-matching if you're going to be slipping the clutch on the downshift
-There are probably others, but Scionkid, John and LS1 will have to come up with them

As for shifting straight from 1st to third, it should be alright as long as you rev high enough in 1st, but I'd look into the 1-2 problem. My guess is that the synchro is worn. I'd try double-clutching into 2nd :D .
ClutchFork wrote:...So I started carrying a stick of firewood with me and that became my parking brake.
gr8wytshark
Junior Standardshifter

double clutching

Post by gr8wytshark »

ok so you say to try double clutching from 1st to 3rd how would i go about doing that
Warner