Hey guys! bout' to start driving stick

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
Braxx
Junior Standardshifter

Hey guys! bout' to start driving stick

Post by Braxx »

Sup guys? I'm picking up my dads 02 maxima SE 6 speed in about 3 months from MA and driving it accross the country to where I live. Been reading the site for a day or two now, good stuff!

This will be my frist car as I am turning 17 in just under a month, I have some experience driving stick but launches are the worst part for me, any pointers you could give me would be great!

Quite a few years back my dad was letting me drive his car in a parking lot, and bieng the young retard that I was I did something and the car jumped aout 5 feet and smoke came out of the tranny, I assumed the terrible smell was the clutch and my dad comfirmed this, I think I was 12.

Ever since I have been afraid of the clutch, when I look at it nowadays I feel asthough it is made of glass and the slightest thing you do wrong ruins it. A few months back my dad let me try his car again and I didn't do anything wrong, rather it was a very sketchy start coming to a near stall.. my dad constantly tells me to barely touch the gas pedal ONLY when the clutch is nearing its friction point and never give it gas beforehand.

I was driving around with my friend last week in his 89 civic :P and I noticed he revs the engine and then lets out the clutch.. is this a tecnique I should try? I'm just afraid the car will jump again and its not great for the clutch either, am I right or wrong? I noticed in the instructional video, the person states he revs the engine to about 1k RPM before letting out the clutch.