mr. bad luck with stick shift

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
taktics
Junior Standardshifter

mr. bad luck with stick shift

Post by taktics »

Hey everyone here at Standard Shift I am relatively new at the art of stick shifting, but i did have a 300zx for a week. I bought it not being experienced on how to drive a stick shift, and i had him drive it to my apartment so i could practice. Well A day later I couldn't get the shifter to move in or out of gear when the car was running, but it switched gears fine when engine was off. The car then did not start for some reason, not due to bad engine but probably some security feature. I wasn't having a good time with the car so i sold it.

I realized that I was stupid for buying the car but now I want to start things off the right way. That was a year ago and now im 19, currently drive a grand am automatic and I am on a quest to learn everything I possibly can before buying another stick shift.

I really want one but i need to do it the right way this time.

Thank you for all those who took the time to read.

oh i forgot my name is Patrick
Leedeth
Master Standardshifter

Re: mr. bad luck with stick shift

Post by Leedeth »

How did you manage to sell a car that wouldn't even start? You really should've tried to fix that problem. I don't even know how you could've sold a car with those problems unless you sold it dirt cheap.

Anyway, welcome back to standard shifting. If possible you should learn to drive standard on a friend's car before you buy your own. Unless you're a quick learner and you're confident in your abilities...

Are you set on getting another 300ZX? We got a few members here who can point you in the right direction.
taktics
Junior Standardshifter

Post by taktics »

oh yeah it was able to start back up.. i just waited for my dad to come home then we both tried it again worked for him but not for me. it just wasn't for me =[