Hello to all!

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
.fortune
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: None atm :(

Hello to all!

Post by .fortune »

Hello to everyone here at these forums.
As far as an intro goes, I'm simply a new member here and a new driver (chalk up new college student as well). I came up on these forums by accident earlier this month, and have found the info here to be priceless.
Anyways, I'm in the hunt for a car to call my own, and I'm wondering if it's even somewhat reasonable for me to be thinking about purchasing an STi (04 or 05) as my first car, considering I learned on an auto, and well, I'm new to the whole driving thing.

Just wanna hear some thoughts. And maybe some of jomo's silly banter :D

Cheers

~ cp
CAUTION: long-time lurker, just looking to learn.
wannabe
Master Standardshifter
Cars: NONE - take the bus

Re: Hello to all!

Post by wannabe »

welcome! and where do you go to school?

i wouldn't know about the car thing, thats jomo (and the others') area of "expertise"
2003 Chrysler town and country

Crafting and stuff
Nychold
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2007 Scion tC

Post by Nychold »

Generally speaking, I would sat stay away from performance cars to learn to drive stick. It's not that you can't, but that it will be much more difficult. If you have friends with a manual, at least ask them to teach you the basics before buying an STi or other fast, performance car, though I would recommend you not spend so much money on a car, seeing as how you're still in college. Get a beater, save some money, and get a house once you've graduated. Or get the car you want then. Trust me, college kids are very poor drivers (not implying you, but the rest of them :wink:), and treat cars like crap. Your STi will have nasty door dings, scratches, and dents from moronic kids doing moronic things.

Anyway, welcome to the forum, and hope you enjoy learning to drive a manual!