Best learner MT

General discussion about cars. Looking to buy a new car? Have a great driving story? Post it here!
rebel1861
Junior Standardshifter

Best learner MT

Post by rebel1861 »

I am looking for some advice on the best manual transmission car to learn on. I am a driving instructor in Massachusetts and I would like to try to start a program to teach kids how to drive a stick. I was told it was brought up before but turned down, so I thought I would do some research and come up with a proposal. I thought I'd start with a car. I'm looking for a car I can pick up cheap that is cheap and easy to replace the clutch on. So I was just looking for ideas on cars that are easy to drive and very forgiving to new drivers.
AHTOXA
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '19 4RUNNER TRD ORP

Re: Best learner MT

Post by AHTOXA »

Buy the best-maintained car with the most known repair record and best-known reliability track and the lowest miles you can afford. In regards to manual trans - it won't make a difference. Individual car condition, mileage and maintenance done to it in the past will be the deciding factors.

Generally speaking, RWD cars may be easier to have the clutch replaced due to drivetrain layout, but that severely narrows down your choices. I wouldn't worry about that.
'19 Toyota 4Runner TRD ORP
'12 Suzuki V-Strom 650
tankinbeans
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 17 Mazda6 To, 18 Mazda3 i

Post by tankinbeans »

The easiest I've dealt with was honestly my Focus, bit that's going to be a bit expensive if you're trying to stay cheap. I'd honestly go with an older Corolla. My brother had one, abused it to no end, and the clutch lasted 250k (110k of those were his). The only reason he no longer has it is because the engine crapped out after years of neglect and an oil change every 50 or 60k miles.

Easy to drive, small, not much to break.
17 Mazda6 Touring
18 Mazda3 iSport