Frustration and stress and this isn't even a marriage issue

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
revsin
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: Scion TC

Frustration and stress and this isn't even a marriage issue

Post by revsin »

I bought a 2013 Scion TC about a month ago and it is my first manual car, a little present to myself for turning 40. I've been riding motorcycles for many years so I figured it'd be easy for me to adopt. Hasn't been the case.

My launches into first gear are giving me the most grief. The drive by wire throttle this car has is making it harder than I feel it needs to be. Very touchy, has a bit of a dead spot. Once past the dead spot you've got about 1-2mm of travel between idle 800RPM to north of 1.5K RPM. Course it's also only a hair away from spiking to 2K RPM.

In short, it's difficult to keep the revs under 2k in this car. Possible of course, but very difficult.

What I've been trying:

1) No gas, let clutch out to when it starts to bite, hold it there, attempt to apply gentle throttle, as it starts to roll more freely let the clutch out.
(This works, but since the throttle is so touchy and the dead area makes this a bit inconsistent. Either I miss anticipate the dead spots travel and stall, or I exceed the point of gentle throttle and it spikes to 2k rpm where I feel like I'm doing undo clutch stress )

2) Throttle to 1.5k before the clutch engages, catch engagement point and fade out.
(This launches in the most reliable manner for me, but is 1.5k too high to launch regularly with? Ideally lower than 1.5k would make sense, but the throttle simply doesn't allow this to happen. It's just too touchy)

My goal here is to learn good habits sooner than later, get the fundamentals down so I can spare myself a premature clutch repair and start enjoying what I've purchased. Every bodged shift takes it's toll on me and my stress level is compounding. Every sound and smell is adding to my anxiety.