Shift smoother...

Read the FAQ and still not sure about something? Want to shift faster? Post here.
shiftsmoother
Junior Standardshifter

Shift smoother...

Post by shiftsmoother »

I have been driving stick for a few years now current car is a 2008 6speed M3 and the previous car was a 2003 6speed M3. So i recently was concerned with my downshifting never really thought about it before, but i thought to myself its gotta be smoother then this....i was pushing the clutch in shifting to the lower gear then releasing the clutch which caused jerking and i looked online and found out that i was doing it wrong this whole time!!! i currently have 15,000 miles how bad do you think the damage could be to the clutch/tranny? i havent smelt any clutch either.....Anyway i read about rev matching have been practicing its fun when you get it perfect but it irritates me when i get it wrong and the car jerks any tips? Since I have been practicing rev matching for downshifting i have noticed my upshifts are shitty as well, there clunky and jerky i had no idea i was suppose to rev match also for upshifting because currently to smooth the shift out i was slipping the clutch unknowingly....when coming to a stop now i put her in neutral and just brake but before i was engine braking had no idea... :cry:
jomotopia
Cars: 04 STi, 05 Matrix XR (AT)

Re: Shift smoother...

Post by jomotopia »

you haven't done any extreme damage to your clutch/tranny by not rev-matching downshifts. a little extra wear to the clutch, but nothing major. to get them smooth it just takes practice, so keep working on it.

rev matching upshifts is just a matter of waiting until the engine drops to the right level before letting the clutch out, but letting the clutch out a little slower to smooth it out is not really a big deal either.