Jeep Wrangler, jerks when engaging gear

Synchros shot? Weird noises while shifting? Not sure what needs to be replaced?
Mercury
Junior Standardshifter

Jeep Wrangler, jerks when engaging gear

Post by Mercury »

I am a new owner (under three months) of a '99 Jeep Wrangler 5 speed. I'm new to standard shifts, but I've noticed a problem that I can't easily blame on being a newbie.

When I engage the gear, and it can happen engaging first, second, or third, sometimes (once a day, usually) I'll hear a loud pop and the Jeep will jerk to the side a foot or two. I haven't been able to recreate the problem, or notice any trend with it other than it *seems* to happen more when facing downhill rather than up or on flat ground.

Any ideas?
'99 Jeep Wrangler
IMBoring25

Re: Jeep Wrangler, jerks when engaging gear

Post by IMBoring25 »

Are you in 4WD?
Mercury
Junior Standardshifter

Post by Mercury »

No, not in 4WD.
'99 Jeep Wrangler
Rope-Pusher
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '08 Jeep Liberty

Post by Rope-Pusher »

The entyre vehicle will jerk to the side a foot or two? Shirley, you jest!

My son tests axles - no, not by drag racing or 4-wheeling. When the axle shafts fail in torsion, they often crack at an angle. If one, or two, tries to pass torque thru the broken axle, one half may rotate relative to the other half until the two "long" edges of the crack align, pushing both axle halves away from each other. If the axle shafts can move far enough away from each other, the point of contact can go over-center and the shafts snap back into alignment of the long side of the crack to the short side on the other half.
'08 Jeep Liberty 6-Speed MT - "Last of the Mohicans"
Mercury
Junior Standardshifter

Post by Mercury »

Rope-Pusher wrote:The entyre vehicle will jerk to the side a foot or two? Shirley, you jest!