exhaust system question

Synchros shot? Weird noises while shifting? Not sure what needs to be replaced?
FDSpirit
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2000 Honda Civic Si

exhaust system question

Post by FDSpirit »

I live in the good ol' northeast where rock salt is not a car's best friend. Today my exhaust system had the luxury of rotting/falling off in one area. The part that broke is still connected to the muffler, but is no longer connected to the b pipe. Now I'm checking the diagram and skill level for this and its a C, which isn't too hard If I can do this myself, how should I go about it? It seems the pipe that disconnected comes with the muffler. Should I just buy a new one? And if so, how does it connect to the b pipe? I've never done this before and want to know everything I can before I tackle this job. Thanks in advance
2000 Honda Civic Si- Slightly faster than your grandmomma's grocery getter......slightly.
94Corolla5Speed
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 1994 Corolla, 1990 Miata

Re: exhaust system question

Post by 94Corolla5Speed »

If there's not too much rust, just go to your local mexi-car shop (there's plenty in Chicago, don't know about NY), and have them weld it. Should be cheap, around $20.

The same thing happened to me 2 winters ago I think. I was driving along (I already had a very slight hole in the exhaust, was just a bit loud), and then all of a sudden the exhaust blows WIDE f**k OPEN and is loud as f**k. Turns out the pipe disconnected between the 1st and 2nd muffler. CEL came on too. Got it welded back, and it was quiet as new, and the CEL turned off. Too bad my exhaust sounds like shit now. Raspy and loud, it's quite annoying.
watkins
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '08 Saab 9-5 Aero wagon

Post by watkins »

paul34 wrote:move down South and say goodbye to salt rust issues :mrgreen:
Or buy a Saab. My 10 year old car has a grand total of zero rust on it except standard surface rust on things like the exhaust manifold studs and the rear sway bar