Just a question.

1320 feet of adrenaline
TomCivic
Senior Standardshifter

Just a question.

Post by TomCivic »

I'm 17 and I just got a 2001 Honda Civic Ex which is a standard, of course. I was just wondering, if you're taking off, say in a drag race, is it ok to keep the gas to the floor while you change gears? I know this might sound silly but this is my first time driving a standard and I'm still improving on my launch :-X. I know there will obviously be some wear on the engine but I was just wondering if there's serious potential to break something serious. Btw, I'm not doing any racing soon, just a question lol.
jomotopia
Cars: 04 STi, 05 Matrix XR (AT)

Post by jomotopia »

shifting with the gas floored is called power shifting, and yeah it's very hard on the car. i don't think it will cause any immediate catastrophic failures, but it is certainly something i wouldn't do in my own car.
2013 Subaru Impreza WRX in Orange
TomCivic
Senior Standardshifter

thanks

Post by TomCivic »

Yeah, the Civic I got is in mint condition. There was only one owner before me and he must have taken care of it because clutch catches pretty low and the transmission is still excellent. I don't have to money to replace any of that so I think i'll just drive smart.
jomotopia

Post by jomotopia »

good thinking ;)

as they say, "you gotta pay to play" :P can't risk messing something up if you can't afford to fix it.
TomCivic
Senior Standardshifter

cool.

Post by TomCivic »

It is still a good idea to keep a little gas through shifting just to keep the rpms up. Sometimes the engine will lug out when i switch up, but maybe its just cause i'm shifting too early. I usually like shifting at 2.75 rpm, I find that the smoothest, but when i'm taking off onto the highway i'll try to hit 3.5. Sometimes i like to go to 4 to piss my dad off too.
screenname
Master Standardshifter

Re: cool.

Post by screenname »