hello all

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
s4turn
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: 2001 Saturn SL-1

hello all

Post by s4turn »

hey guys im new to the stick shift world 8) . I live in NE Ohio and I currently drive an auto Saturn SL-1, my first car, which is the perfect definition of econobox, straight down to the massive amounts of engine noise and creaky trim peices that fall off. :oops: (but hey its my first car how can i complain, its pretty reliable and i do my own maintenance) Anyways, I recently got a girl I work with to teach me stick on her '08 Chevy Aveo. Im gonna be leaving off for college next year and Im buying a new car, either the 09 Fit or Saturn/Vauxhall/Opel Astra (which i think looks so awesome), and the good thing about the Astra is i dont have to special order a manual, because their imported straight from Belgium with manual gearboxes (most of them). I wanted to learn because I want to put the extra grand ill save in my pocket as well as good fuel economy (26 mpg currently in my auto saturn 100% city, mostly stop and go). Well from the 2 times ive been out and 1:30 hours of driving in a car park im enjoying it greatly, and so appreciative that she will let me destroy her car :D Im having a slight issue though. She tells me it will come in time but im having problems getting the car going fairly quickly, like in a real world driving situation. I tend to stall it when i move to quickly. I can shift very smoothly and downshift into turns really easily its just this one thing thats gotten me nervous. Shes teaching me to look at the tach and when the needle dips i move from the brake to the gas, which will also help me when i am on a hill and i cant just rev it up and not have my foot on the brake, which also wears the clutch im told. She did a test wear i closed me eyes and tried to feel the car, and i had the smoothest start ive ever had in my short time driving manual. I just wa