New member, considering stick shift car

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
orly
Junior Standardshifter

New member, considering stick shift car

Post by orly »

Hi everyone,

I've been driving (automatics) for 9 years now, and am thinking of acquiring a manual transmission car. I've read/lurked through this site for several months now, and I think I know the basics of driving stick *in theory*. Obviously theory and practice are very different though.

Anyways, the car in question is a Z4M Coupe. I've read a semi-recent thread here about another newbie who bought a E46 M3 and seemed to successfully learn on it. Since the Z4M shares the engine with the E46 M3 as well as other parts, I'm hoping it won't be too painful for me to transition on it too.

As a bonus, I know the clutch wear is covered under BMW's free maintenance program, and the car has other features like "hill holding", and a "clutch delay valve" that veteran stick drivers seem to despise, but say can be useful for newbies.

Good idea? Horrible mistake?
orly
Junior Standardshifter

Re: New member, considering stick shift car

Post by orly »

This is the most comprehensive explanation I've found:

http://www.zeckhausen.com/CDV.htm
The Clutch Delay Valve (CDV) is a one-way restrictor installed by the factory between the clutch slave cylinder and clutch master cylinder, as shown in Figure 1. It "delays" the engagement of the clutch, much like old record players used a damped tone-arm to gently lower the needle onto the surface of a record.