Rookie shifter

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
haazi2
Junior Standardshifter

Rookie shifter

Post by haazi2 »

Well, I'm a rookie shifter. Here's my short story. I moved from the Chicago area to Stockton, CA with my wife and kid. Now my wife drives a stick with no problem. Me being in the big city with the traffic I had figured an automatic is better in heavy traffic. Why would anyone bother with "ancient" technology. So before we moved my automatic, a 92 chevy lumina, nothing to brag about was stolen. So being "affraid" of driving a stick I let my wife drive me around. When we moved to Stockton, I was getting a ride to work but was forced to drive a 93 subaru impreza 5spd to get to work. So far the experience has had its ups and downs. I stalled at every intersection yesterday. The hardest part is just getting the car rolling, once I'm rolling shifting gears is no problem. I've tried the no gas method with mixed results. I guess having the patience may be the problem. I'm not giving up. I'm pretty sure I can learn to move the car from a stopped positiion more smoothly. I do, by the way do manage to start smoothly many times but there are those times it takes me 3 to 4 times of stalling before I get the car moving. I plan to do some practice of the no gas method this weekend to better myself. Thanks for reading my small story about becoming a rookie shifter.
jomotopia
Cars: 04 STi, 05 Matrix XR (AT)

Post by jomotopia »

welcome to the site and to stick shifting :D

the launch is the hardest part to get down well and consistently. but drive stick for a little while and you will really enjoy it. and you'll wonder how you ever got along driving a slushie :D
2013 Subaru Impreza WRX in Orange
Prodigal Son
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2006 Jetta, 2004 Miata

Post by Prodigal Son »