New Member From Michigan

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
ClutchFork
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 2008 Fusion 2.3L manual

New Member From Michigan

Post by ClutchFork »

My current manual transmissioned vehicle:
And its custom shift knob:
I really like the baseball shift knob. It has a nice feel in my hand and is just the right size.

I have been driving stick since 1977. Here are all my vehicles from present all the way back to the first one:

2001 Ford Ranger 2.3L 5-speed stick
1995 Ford F150 4.9L 5-speed stick
1984 Ford F150 4.9L 4-speed stick
1977 Ford F100 4.9L 3-on-the-tree
1963 Chevy Biscayne six cylinder 3-on-the-tree with non-syncro first gear
1977 Suzuki GT500 (manual transmission of course)
1971 Ford Custom 4-door automatic
1964 Dodge Dart pushbutton automatic

My first experience with a stick shift was as a gasoline station pump jockey in the mid 1970s. I would drive the tow truck, first pulling out in creeper gear by starting it in gear. That gave me the manual transmission bug. The two automatics and the first manual (the Chevy) were hand-me-downs. Nice that one grandpa drove a manual transmission anyway. I used to like to downshift into first on the Chevy non-syncro first gear on gravel roads by slamming on the brakes to lock up the rear wheels, then shift into first.