Greetings from Southwest Ohio

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
mapman85
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: 2009 Subaru Outback

Greetings from Southwest Ohio

Post by mapman85 »

I've been reading this site for awhile but decided to join up in case I have a few questions. It has provided some of the most useful information from all my various Google searches. So thank you!

I'm in my mid/late 20s and decided back in September (2011) to finally say goodbye to the very reliable but aging car I had been driving since high school (2002 Toyota Corolla auto). Ever since my uncle had let me shift gears as a child in his Suzuki Samurai, and subsequently taught me to drive it one time after I got my license, I wanted a MT. Being that I currently live in a mid size town that is relatively flat, I thought now may be the best opportunity I have to "get used" to driving one. So I took the plunge on a 2009 Subaru Outback, base model with a 5MT, which had come off a lease with around 25,000 miles. Several of my friends when I lived in Utah enjoyed their Subarus, and it seemed practical for snow (not this year!) and for tossing my bike in the back without bothering with a rack. Plus I don't particularly care for the newer models, and the deal was hard to pass up.

After stalling/bucking several times on the way home for the dealership, I thought I had made the worse decision of my life! I have gotten to the point where it is mostly second nature and enjoyable, but I still get frustrated with my lack of consistency being smooth (and/or the car's quirks) and still get a little nervous with hills/traffic.

My dad has driven manuals so he can answer some of my questions, but it is still nice to find a place to seek expert opinions. I look forward to the continued helpful dialogue!

2009 Subaru Outback 2.5i 5MT
Warner
Master Standardshifter

Re: Greetings from Southwest Ohio

Post by Warner »