Hello a Newbie Here.

Just sign up? Feel free to tell your fellow Standardshifters about yourself, your car or anything else.
911TT
Junior Standardshifter

Hello a Newbie Here.

Post by 911TT »

Hello I am new here.

I have been driving a Audi S5 V8 6-speed for the past year and recently changed my car for a 09' 911 Turbo. The issue I am having is that there is a huge difference driving one from another. For example the Audi included a electonic park brake which was very usefull for an uphill so the car would deactivate the park brake once the car is in motion so the car wont rollback downhill. So bassically I never got used to getting the clutch out in the right timimg. Now my new car doesnt have this feature so now I will need to practice on an uphill so my car wont roll back, plus this new car has the engine in the back of the car making more difficult.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
ColJessip
Master Standardshifter

Re: Hello a Newbie Here.

Post by ColJessip »

Welcome to SS, I am the resident Porkchop.
Bemvindo a SS, eu sou o residente Porkchop.

Pictures are manditory. I suggest a nameplate too, to get rid of the doubters.

The hill starts take practice.
padauk_dust
Master Standardshifter
Cars: '88 Accord, '96 VFR

Post by padauk_dust »

Great taste in cars, if I do say so. Welcome!

Because you don't have the electronic parking brake in the 911, you've got to either use the handbrake while launching on a hill - which if the hill is steep enough, I will use this method - or you can learn to quickly move your right foot off the brake pedal and onto the gas - quickly but accurately - in harmony with your clutch foot.

Both likely introduce a new technique/aspect to driving and both tend to take practice.