Downshift Fail!

General discussion about cars. Looking to buy a new car? Have a great driving story? Post it here!
MidnightInGotham
Junior Standardshifter
Cars: 2016 GTI

Downshift Fail!

Post by MidnightInGotham »

This morning on my way to work, I was going to attempt a quick heel toe just to practice (first attempt). It's early and I'm trying to concentrate...slowing down, moderate breaking...moved the stick from 6>5 and completely forgot the clutch!!!!!!! :shock:

Now there were no grinding sounds or anything alarming from a feel or sound standpoint and the effort was not extreme. Obviously don't ever do this, but did I do any damage here? I'm still fairly new to this but this one made me want to curl into the fetal position and cry myself to sleep.

Please let me know what I'm in for!
2016 Volkswagen GTI Autobahn Performance Pack
IMBoring25

Re: Downshift Fail!

Post by IMBoring25 »

Nope...If you've done any damage at all there should be either noises or excessive shift effort.
MidnightInGotham
Junior Standardshifter

IMBoring25 wrote:Nope...If you've done any damage at all there should be either noises or excessive shift effort.
Gosh, that's a great thing to hear. I mean I had my music on and such but I would imagine I'd hear something over that.
tankinbeans
Master Standardshifter
Cars: 17 Mazda6 To, 18 Mazda3 i

Post by tankinbeans »

You'll find "experts" all over the web who will say they only use the clutch to start moving and then no-clutch it from there forward. If the car is in the same number of pieces as before and no sounds are emanating from inappropriate places you're likely fine.
17 Mazda6 Touring
18 Mazda3 iSport
InlinePaul wrote:The driving force of new fangled features to sell more cars [is to] cater to the masses' abject laziness!
MidnightInGotham
Junior Standardshifter

Also what type of wear would this cause? I assume synchro? Gears?
tankinbeans
Master Standardshifter

Post by tankinbeans »